The 5 Love Languages Explained & How to Treat Each One

5 Love Languages

While many of us think we understand love languages well, our understanding may often be superficial. Primarily, love language is the way we all like to give and receive affection- both in a romantic and platonic relationship.

It was first introduced by Baptist minister Gary Chapman in his book “The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate” in 1992. Since then, love languages have become a cultural phenomenon and have been updated or evolved many times.

It is necessary to understand the love language of your significant other and communicate your preferences to nurture a long-lasting relationship. Communicating clearly and setting clear expectations is the right way to cement your relationship.

What Are the Five Love Languages?

The 5 love languages have their own unique characteristics. If you have a different love language than your partner, it may be difficult to tell what it is they want or how to show them, love.

How to Treat Someone Whose Love Language is Words of Affirmation

  • Shower them with sincere compliments: They can tell if you’re just giving compliments to appease them – make sure they’re heartfelt and honest.
  • Reassure them often: If someone with this love language isn’t being told that they’re doing a good job or that you feel love for them, they may start to doubt their worth or where they stand in the relationship.
  • Communicate openly: Someone who has words of affirmation as their love language love to have honest, transparent conversations.

Words of Affirmation

Words of affirmation are the love language that wants to hear words from someone that shows they are loved, cared for, admired, and appreciated. Someone with this love language appreciates compliments and reassurance more than any other love language. They feel their best when they’re being told how someone views them and cares for them.

How to Treat Someone Whose Love Language is Physical Touch

Physical Touch
  • Hug them A lot.
  • Show them affection through cuddling, holding hands, or running your hands through their hair.
  • Don’t turn them away if they’re trying to get physically close to you. This love language will see this as a sign that you don’t feel as connected as they do; they will see this as rejection.

Physical Touch

Someone who has physical touch as their love language is the cuddliest, often friendliest, type of person. This love language is all about connecting through touch. It doesn’t have to be intimate – even just a hug or holding hands makes their hearts melt.

How to Treat Someone Whose Love Language is Quality Time

Love Language is Quality Time
  • Arrange activities for the 2 of you to do together that bring you closer to one another.
  • Spend time with them where you both are asking deep, interesting questions. They love to explore the minds of their partner and share their own feelings as well.

Quality Time

Quality time is a love language where people value spending time with their partners. Don’t think that just spending time doing nothing or engaging in small talk is enough for them. No, people whose love language is quality time want both of you to be fully present during and engaged with one another.

How to Treat Someone Whose Love Language is Receiving Gifts

  • Surprise them with little trinkets or gifts throughout the month.
  • Make something for them.
  • Definitely don’t forget to give them a gift for important holidays!

Receiving Gifts

If someone’s love language is receiving gifts, you should be sure to be okay with showering them with random presents every so often. This love language receives their love when their partner gives them something tangible – they view it as a token of how someone feels about them.

How to Treat Someone Whose Love Language is Acts of Service

  • Take up one of their tasks for them every once in a while.
  • Ask often if they need help with anything.
  • Surprise them by making dinner or doing something that they normally would handle.

Acts of Service

The last language is acts of service. People who have acts of service as their love language receive their love when someone is helping them with a task. They feel the most connected to a partner who has no trouble lending a helping hand.