Monday, May 13, 2013

Review: The Ward by Jordana Frankel


The Ward by Jordana Frankel
The Ward #1
Release Date: April 30th, 2013
Number of Pages: 480
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Source: Edelweiss
GRAmazonBDIndigo
Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.  
However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.  
Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre. 
The Ward was one of those books I find so hard to review. It is the kind of book that simply didn’t impress me. I was so excited to get my hands on this book, as I loved dystopian novels. Yet, it failed to impress me. I was just looking for more out of this book, and I found the book to be missing out a little something to really get me hooked. The premise sounded really interesting, but I felt let down by the lack of world building. In dystopian, world building is kind of a big deal for me. If that part doesn’t work out in a book, then the book itself falls flat for me. Then there is the fact that there seems to be a little too much going on, making the book more than simply dystopian.

Characterwise, I’m a little torn. Ren was interesting, but there were some aspect of her personality that really put me of. I liked her relationship with Aven, and found her to be a strong character when it came down to the races and everything related to that. Yet, her feelings for Derek put me off a little. The way she reacted to his friend-who-happen-to-be-a-girl made me roll my eyes a few times. Despite those moments, I did root for her, and I did like her. And yes, I did want her to end up with Derek, because I did like him. I found him to be a really interesting character, and I wanted to see him even more.

Overall, The Ward simply didn’t impress me enough to love it. I felt a little let down by this book. The story failed to really captivate me. I do have to give props to Jordana Frankel for managing to give the readers a few really great twits I had not expected. I will still probably give the sequel a shot (if only because the ending made me curious), but it won’t be at the top of my reading pile.

About the Author
From GoodReads

Jordana Frankel is a Jersey native.

She's been a camp counselor, a salesperson of diamonds, a hostess at a southwestern grill, an archivist of rare books, a yoga instructor, and a reading teacher, but her shining moment was when she got to hang out in Walmart for 12 hours a day as the AXE girl.

She received her B.A. in English from Goucher College, graduated and then went to live in Italy for a year. Afterwards she then went for her MFA in Poetry at Hollins University.

But then she graduated and she moved back to NYC.

She got her first job at The Literary Group International as a literary agency, where she'd started as an intern reading queries and then assisted editorially. At Linn Prentis Literary, also a literary agency, she handled foreign sales, picked up gems from unsolicited mail, and helped authors through the publishing process. And then it was onto The Book Report Network where she handled ads and promos for features on Teenreads.com, Kidsreads.com, and GraphicNovelReporter.com.


17 comments:

  1. I have been hoping this book would be good. Now, The Ward just sounds unimpressive. Darn. Thanks for the review. If I ever read this I now know to get it straight from the library (no buying)!

    New Follower via email :)
    Emily @ Counting in Bookcases

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ah so sad to hear it fell short for you. I was really excited to read this. I've read a couple of mixed reviews, some who loved it and those who didn't. I love a good dystopian but like you, world building is crucial to me. If I can't visualize this world, I have a hard time relating to the characters and the journey they embark on. Plot twists do have a tendency to suck me in, even if I haven't liked the book thus far. Although I'm wary of this book, I think I'll still give it a shot just so I can see what those twists are. I'm a sucker for them, what can I say. But like Emily Anne, I think I'll just get it from the library. Thanks for the honest review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. It definitely fell short for me as well, for all the same reasons! Except that I definitely felt different about Derek, I thought he was creepy, I am so rooting for Callum all the way :P

    Great review!
    Jade @ Ink Scratchers

    ReplyDelete
  4. I was about to buy some English books online, and found this post of yours.. Got another book to add in the list :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. "get income from a part time Assignment entry jobs best way to make money at home
    best way of earned money for student online data entry jobs
    now offered to all those people who want to earned money by work at your home
    more detail (http://tinyurl.com/3gce3ot) IDS (11550)"

    ReplyDelete
  6. my name Clara Benson am from united state of american.i want to testify about the most wonderfull spell caster i have ever meet in my entier life, i cheated on my love and he cut me in the act and broke up with me, but when i told my friend about it she then introduce me to priest odoo who cast a spell on him and after two days he came back, and we are now happy together and we are even planning on geting married. you can contact priest odoo for any kind of help. u can contact him via email.....templeofgreatwork@gmail.com.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Wow.. what a great blog.. nice posting.. i like this blog.. thanks for the sharing the superb information.nice tips.. Matrimonial sites Punjab | matrimonial sites for Kumaonis | marriage sites in gurgaon

    ReplyDelete
  8. Aside from lacking race-required strobe lights, rollover bars, and onboard fire extinguishing system, the '98 Pace Car replicas were identical to the actual pacers, a claim none of the previous Replicas could make. It also differs in having replica wathces its Indy 500 livery applied by the factory, not the owner rolex replica (save the windshield name decal) gucci replica. And striking it was, especially the wild flag logos, yellow wheels, and eye-popping yellow/black interior. It's the main attraction of a package that added $2,800 to the $44,900 base price of a fifth-generation or "C5" chanel replica convertible.

    ReplyDelete
  9. This post is very nice....My Self Maya one of the hot and sexy girl providing Services of Delhi Escorts, Delhi Prostitutes, Delhi Call Girls, Gurgaon Escorts from last 6 years.

    ReplyDelete
  10. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Very good story from start to end. Would like to have a second book to see what happened.

    syfy blog

    ReplyDelete
  12. Hãy thu giãn cùng tien len mien bac hay thả ga với Game Tien len mien nam và tr? thành vua bài v?i Binh xap xam.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Luckily came to your place.
    Hope to connect with all EBooks Authors helping each others.
    http://amazonebooksbase.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete